Call of Duty 5 is currently not in beta and Infinity Ward is advising players to avoid supposed invites.
Infinity Ward is advising gamers to ignore any emails they receive which claim to be beta invites for
Call of Duty 5: Modern Warfare 2 as the beta
According to Infinity Ward's Community Manager
Robert Bowling a new phishing scam has been set up under the guise and all beta invite are illegitimate and unofficial.
The emails are being sent out from
Cod5beta@infinityward.com and are a word for word copy of the beta invites sent out for
Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare, but with the 4 substituted for a 5. Clever, no?
The best thing to do if you do happen to get an email invite sent to you is "
just delete it" according to Robert, who says Infinity Ward and Activision are fully aware of the scam.
Dispelling any rumours and making the whole issue a lot simpler, Robert also adds that there is currently no
Call of Duty 5: Modern Warfare 2 beta running and that, if and when the beta does launch, you won't need an email to tell you because he'd be "
shouting it from every internet rooftop".
Have you happened to have had one of these phoney invites? You didn't fall for it did you? You
did? Ha! You'll probably want to offer your excuses in
the forums then.
its a another modern setting
There is huge debate on that on Kotaku.. It's kinda scary how angry some people get over naming schemes.
Popular theory is that it's not 5 because 5 isn't mentioned in the title, but IMO, it's the fifth game, so.. It might aswell be 5 >.>
Untill now i've always refered to Word at War as "COD5".. oops :o
Call of Duty: World at war is the 10th game in the Call of Duty Franchise, 11th if you count the DS version of COD4.
Infinity ward have now made a deal that they get to make the numbered releases going forward, so the new COD game coming this year will be Call of Duty 5.
Also, there is no "5" on the box for World at War, its built on the engine that IW created for COD4, so if we're being honest, World at War is basically a very well made official mod.
Well, it's not the fifth game and it's not the sixth game either. It's not really the fith revision of the engine either. They sort of subscribe to the "because we say so, school of sequel numbering". It is the fifth COD game on PC, but that can't be right because COD4 was the third PC COD.
I can state that no developer would send out random emails asking Joe Pubic to become a beta tester. You may have to sign an NDA, but there would still be too many worries about information being leaked before release if you just picked people at random.
I haven't seen one of these emails, but as they are classed as a phishing scam I assume that at some point you would be asked for your credit card or bank details. Again, no developer would do this, there is absolutely no reason too. 90% of the time the alpha testers are either in-house already or have come from a reputable source, and most beta testers are trusted people from the companies main forums. The first are paid through the normal channels and therefore don't need to send their bank/card details by mail, and the second are normally unpaid. (At least in my experience)
They then access the Live account,change the password to take ownership, spend any points you may have and also purchase items on your account if you have a valid card attached, and spam the url claiming to be a COD beta sign-up page to everyone on your Friends List
I haven't been caught, but a couple of people on my friends list have and both have ended up having to set up new Live accounts.